#1 JonB

JonB

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Member: 13617

Posted 27 July 2007 - 08:30

Hi all

Im just starting out, really want to get learning to play the harp but as im sure you all know, cash is a pretty big factor. I found a set of listings from a (seemingly) reputable seller on ebay, with harps at crazy low prices. Have a look:

http://cgi.ebay.co.u...1QQcmdZViewItem

Im so tempted but I cant help asking myself how these harps can be so cheap. I mean granted they wont be as good as a pilgrim clarsach or similar, but theyre a quater of the price. I emailled the seller about the item and he says the strings are nylon (except the bottom octave) and the strings are the same width and spacing as a concert harp.

Any thoughts? It seems too good to be true.

#2 mcm

mcm

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 707 posts
  • Member: 10395
  • Scotland

Posted 27 July 2007 - 12:02

Do you know the make? There are bad reports about some of those made in the east.

However it looks very like the Mitre harp sold by the Early Music Shop for £746 or £671 from DJMusic. So on the one hand the ebay seller is a bit dishonest saying you can't buy it for less that £1500 in the High St, but on the other it is still less than the EMS.

If it is the same harp then it is probably reasonable, as shops like the EMS don't sell junk, and the low price will reflect the low overheads of a purely internet business. As always, though, caveat emptor!

Can't you find a teacher or another player who could give you some advice?

#3 JonB

JonB

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 27 July 2007 - 12:29

QUOTE(mcm @ Jul 27 2007, 01:02 PM) View Post

Do you know the make? There are bad reports about some of those made in the east.