12 replies to this topic

#1 rachelbr

rachelbr

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Member: 16507

Posted 19 September 2007 - 15:25

A friend's daughter is keen to start trumpet lessons, inspired by her Dad who plays. She's 7 years old which sounds too little to me, but as I'm a pianist and violinist I'm not qualified to say. I guess trumpets come in different sizes just like violins.....?

What are your views? Thanks.

#2 pikkoloflautist

pikkoloflautist

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Member: 10609
  • Hampshire

Posted 19 September 2007 - 15:34

no they don't. You can get trumpets and cornets but they're like flutes and clarinets, if they're smaller (like a piccolo trumpet or a soprano cornet) then they're aimed at more advanced players.
however, my sister started the trumpet when she was seven and she was quite small for her age so it is definitely possible.

#3 mikeyc

mikeyc

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Member: 10598
  • North London

Posted 19 September 2007 - 15:39

QUOTE(rachelbr @ Sep 19 2007, 04:25 PM) View Post

A friend's daughter is keen to start trumpet lessons, inspired by her Dad who plays. She's 7 years old which sounds too little to me, but as I'm a pianist and violinist I'm not qualified to say. I guess trumpets come in different sizes just like violins.....?

Hi, I'm 13. I started trumpet lessons at school in Year 3, that's first year juniors. I was seven and a half. Nobody I know has started lessons earlier than that except for a little girl who is the daughter of my band conductor. She's about 6 and is able to play two octave. I know that her father teaches her and he is very strict but it is possible.

Trumpets do not come in different sizes. Actually I had a cornet to begin with. They're kind of not so long, more compact shape. If you are using an instrument from school or renting one you can see which is heavier, etc.