Beginner Piano Books For 5 Year Old?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Guest: Claire21_*

Guest: Claire21_*
  • Guests
  • Member: 0

Posted 05 September 2004 - 10:58

I am about to start teaching beginner piano to a 5 year old. I've not taught this age or level before, and it's an awfully long time since I was a beginner myself (and I started older than that anyway). Can anyone recommend the best book to start off with? So far I have whittled the possibilities down to Chester's, Me & My Piano, and Ministeps. I would appreciate any thoughts as to which of these would be the best, or indeed whether I should choose something completely different.

Thanks!

#2 Guest: maggiemay_*

Guest: maggiemay_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 September 2004 - 11:59

Claire - I think you have a good set there.

I would also consider Tunes for ten Fingers (Oxford) which is excellent for the very young age group. Maybe slightly better presented than M&MP. Chester is visually very clear, with only one tune per page, and information / writing alongside: I do sometimes find that I would like more than one tune at some points, and for this reason I find M&MP and Tunes for TF a little more flexible than Chester.

Me and my Piano delays introducing left hand till part way through the book - which you may or may not feel is a good idea. (But looking ahead, book two of this series moves on rather too quickly for many 5-6-7 yr olds - I often change course-books at this point anyway once I get to see how a student copes with whatever book one we have used).

I'm less familiar with Ministeps but a have heard it highly recommended by colleagues. Afraid I have given you a fourth without crossing any off your list - so have not made your task any easier, but good luck anyway!

Maggie

#3 Guest: sbhoa_*

Guest: sbhoa_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 September 2004 - 12:08

I have just started to use Piano Discoveries with a 6 year old.