Photo

What Do You Teach On A First Piano Lesson?

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 hammer action

hammer action

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Member: 63311

Posted 09 November 2009 - 13:45

Say for example, you have an adult total beginner who has come to you for lessons. What do you teach on the very first lesson (lasting 30 mins?) I ask out of curiosity and to see if what i'm doing is normal! I'm sometimes concerned incase i'm telling a new beginner too much on their first lesson - last thing i want to do is "scare" someone into never coming back!! What book do you find best for an adult beginner. I usually use the Comple Piano Player, but can't help feeling that it's a wee bit old fashioned! Thanks smile.gif

#2 Digby

Digby

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1782 posts
  • Member: 480

Posted 09 November 2009 - 15:02

I use Carol Barratt classic piano course, but as has been mentioned before it does jump quite quickly.

I know what you mean, the first lesson can be very 'wordy' with me talking more than I would normally, but as to how much to cover it's very much a case of judging each individual. I do try to get them playing the piano as much as possible, but it is harder with adults as kids are quite happy to bang the top notes, bottom notes, play quietly and loudly, whereas adults are alot more reserved.

#3 Hedgehog

Hedgehog

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4776 posts
  • Member: 3747
  • Suburbia

Posted 09 November 2009 - 15:18

Depends on what the adults have done before. I have used the Michael Aaron adult course, and the grade 1 (I think it's called) book.