17 replies to this topic

#1 Spanish Pavane

Spanish Pavane

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Member: 720213

Posted 05 January 2014 - 20:47

I'm an experienced teacher, including theory so I hope someone can either shed light on this or agree with me that it might be some kind of mistake.  It's Trinity Theory sample paper 1, grade Two (they're free on Trinity website).  Section Three, Spot Five Differences.  1) The metronome mark should be the other way round. 2) Key sig before time sig.  3) The G's in the first bar should be beamed together.  4) The last two notes should be a minim.  And.....????

Of course I wrote to Trinity but I didn't get a reply.

Can anyone see what the fifth is?

#2 porilo

porilo

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1124 posts
  • Member: 138745
  • South West London

Posted 05 January 2014 - 22:02

It's got me stumped too. Could it be that the last D in the first bar should have its tail pointing up, as the notes before and after have tails pointing up? That's not really a mistake, though, but might make it look a bit neater.  :D

#3 jim palmer

jim palmer

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1179 posts
  • Member: 28959
  • South London

Posted 05 January 2014 - 22:07

I would agree with your 1...3, and both tenutos superfluous?

:rolleyes:

#4 Spanish Pavane

Spanish Pavane

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Member: 720213

Posted 05 January 2014 - 22:29

I think there's some very obscure ruling about middle line notes and stems - but it's very nebulous and I've never come across it in over fifty years!! - just came across it recently, something like the distance from the next note influences whether you'd put it up or down.  

Tenuto marks - well, possibly.  But neither of these two things are mistakes as such are they?  I'll have to write to Trinity again, someone must have written the paper!

#5 linda.ff

linda.ff

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5032 posts
  • Member: 183500