JUST RECEIVED THIS EMAIL - I SUSPECT IT'S A SCAM, BUT IT'S NOT ASKING FOR MONEY BUT FOR CDs, SO SEEMS LESS OBVIOUSLY SO. THOUGHT I'D START A THREAD TO DISCUSS IT SO WE CAN HELP EACH OTHER. DO POST TO LET US KNOW WHAT YOU THINK, OR IF YOU'VE FOUND ANYTHING OUT. I'M JUST IGNORING IT AT THE MOMENT. IF THEY REALLY WANTED HELP, YOU'D THINK THEY'D START A LINK WITH A COLLEGE IN THE UK.
THE EMAIL READ:
"Dear [my name was here],
I am writing to you on behalf of the teachers’ council of our Moscow Musical College after finding your e-mail address at the Music Teachers UK.
For more than 15 years we have been providing music training for children from 5 to 14 years of age. Unfortunately, because of the poor economic situation that has prevailed for a long time in Russia, we have received only minimal support from the Moscow government’s federal budget.
I would like to explain that we do not collect any tuition fees from the students at our college, otherwise the majority of parents would not be able to afford their children’s tuition. Consequently, it is becoming increasingly difficult to continue with this very worthwhile enterprise. Furthermore, when it comes to the matter of teaching materials, the situation is little short of catastrophic, particularly with regard to sound materials.
We would be extremely grateful if you could send us any recordings of music on CDs, DVDs or LPs, even if their boxes are damaged.
YOUR HELP IS NECESSARY TO US!
Yours faithfully and hoping for your help,
Nickolay Carmanow,
Director.
Moscow Musical College
39-5-25, 3-Barkovaya street
105037, Moscow
Russian Federation
Phone: 7-985-366-6917
E-mail 1: MusicalCollege@mtu-net.ru
E-mail 2: MusicalCollege@bk.ru
Web: http://MusicalCollege.narod.ru "