Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: E-mail from musicteachers.co.uk
Forums > ABRSM > Teachers
Seer_Green
Has anyone else had an e-mail this morning from musicteachers.co.uk asking you to confirm that your listing details are correct? It looks genuine, but in many ways it reads as spam, i.e. 'click on this link to confirm your details'. It seems you have to click that your details are right or to change them.
katyjay
QUOTE(Seer_Green @ Jun 30 2012, 09:22 AM) *

Has anyone else had an e-mail this morning from musicteachers.co.uk asking you to confirm that your listing details are correct? It looks genuine, but in many ways it reads as spam, i.e. 'click on this link to confirm your details'. It seems you have to click that your details are right or to change them.

Had the same thing. It does look odd. I've sent them a message through their own system telling them that the e-mail is a bad idea and asking them to have a rethink.
andante_in_c
I've had (a genuine) one of these each summer since I've subscribed. As I raise my rates in September it is usually a good opportunity to update them on my account. smile.gif I've never thought of them as dodgy in any way. unsure.gif
maggiemay
I haven't had it (yet). I think you're right to be cautious. If it is genuine, they have not thought it through.

Oh wait ..... !
Seer_Green
mmm...not just me then!

I haven't had an enquiry through them for years, so maybe it's time to get rid of it?
sbhoa
They've never emailed me.
Feeling neglected....
Czerny
QUOTE(Seer_Green @ Jun 30 2012, 09:46 AM) *

mmm...not just me then!

I haven't had an enquiry through them for years, so maybe it's time to get rid of it?

I don't think I've had this e-mail, but funnily enough had an enquiry through the site just last night.
Seer_Green
Did anyone hear anything further about this? I've still got the original e-mail e-mail sitting in my inbox and I haven't done anything about confirming my details. I suppose I will be struck off ohmy.gif
agricola
They phoned me to say I hadn't replied to an e-mail, so I visited the site and up-dated my details. I think it is reasonable for them to ask for an annual up-date otherwise their site gets cluttered up with out-of-date material. I never click on links from e-mails though, always go to the web site from my favourites list in case it's a scam.
Seer_Green
QUOTE(agricola @ Jul 16 2012, 10:47 PM) *

They phoned me to say I hadn't replied to an e-mail, so I visited the site and up-dated my details. I think it is reasonable for them to ask for an annual up-date otherwise their site gets cluttered up with out-of-date material. I never click on links from e-mails though, always go to the web site from my favourites list in case it's a scam.

Oh yes, I'm not against confirming details but the way the e-mail was worded it did read rather like spam (click this link to confirm your details etc.). I'm not sure whether simply visiting the site and updating your details would be the same as clicking to confirm them?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.