Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Gear4music.com
Forums > ABRSM > General Music Forum
elisabeth_rb
Hi Guys!

I happened across this site: gear4music.com, which gets low priced instruments from the East, (perhaps similar to the ones we can pay double for in our locla shops), and sells them on-line. Has anyone bought from them and got any feedback? Bascially, to buy a full-sized student cello, they're charging £195, whereas my local shop wil charge £325 minimum and I'm skint! laugh.gif

Elisabeth blink.gif
MattD
I'd be pretty sceptical, seeing as anybody can lie to you over the internet without fluctuations in tone of voice etc. The site does look quite promising at first glance, but I'd be sure to listen to the opinions of those who have purchased musical instruments from there first!
country_bumpkin
Yeah I checked out that site when I wanted to buy a guitar, I didn't find their prices were that great actually! Chappells had a better price. It's a decent site though, perfectly safe to buy your cello from.
bassmadmatt
Yeah its a good site, I use it quite alot.
elisabeth_rb
Thanks guys. What about the quality of the gear? Any thoughts there?

Elisabeth wink.gif
bassmadmatt
In my experience, everything has been top quality and arrived promptly, well packed and undamaged.
elisabeth_rb
Thanks Matt! Did you get their 'regular named' stuff, or the low cost 'Gear4Music' brand?? The cello I might be getting is their own label.

Many thanks again, you're a real help. wink.gif
bassmadmatt
No prob! biggrin.gif I use a lot of their own brands, mainly because they're cheap and good quality. Must admit I've never experienced one of their cellos yet, but I think its definitely worth giving them try smile.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.