Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Warning:world Trade Consulting Advertising
Forums > ABRSM > Teachers
Semele
Just had a fright and thought it best to warn other teachers here.

Received a bill for £408.00 from this company that is based in the Bahamas.

http://www.umcworldtrade.com/

I haven't done any research on them and don't remember advertising on any website of this nature except the usual teacher sites.

After reading the invoice more carefully,which states:

Entry/Offer Edition **** Ref.No **** Date: 20/9/05

The data on this page will be published including information with links to your website and E-Mail address in the Global Industry & Business Directory.Standard entry is free of charge.

Heading : Me

Sic* ( the ad info will be entered in the GIBD upon signature of this offer or payment of the reg fee indicated above.With payment by bank transfer please indicate your Ref.No ) ...***

Category: Music teachers

Details : Music teachers

Communication Data : Phone +44 ********

Payment: Brut amount £425 Less % within 28 days...£17.00 net Amount £408.00

So if you get one of these,please bin it.

Digby
I think I had a phone call from someone like this the other week - they were confirming all my details as they appear on a piano teachers website and in the yellow pages. The guy launched into his 'interrogation' in a barely comprehensible accent (I assumed indian based call centre at the time) and I confirmed my name and telephone with a grunt, before questioning him informing him that I only advertise with yellow pages and hanging up.
Suepea
Do not open anything like this as it can contain a virus - and delete it from your computer, and never give your personal details. I nearly clicked onto the umcworltrade address when looking at this post as it is the first highlighted blue text that you see - the first one is usually the one to open up the post. I am sure there are others that can give you more information about this sort of thing - I believe there is a website somewhere where you can report it.
Semele
This came through the post.

Normally you would have expected a load of bumph,but it was an invoice.

I immediately phoned Trading Standards about it,because my eye was drawn to the amount. As I was in the queue I started to read it properly and then hung up as I realised I didn't owe them a penny.

Very disconcerting to say the least...a new level of advertising.

I'm also registered with the telephone and mail preference serrvice,but I still get cold calls.

Although also ex-directory, having your details in the yellow pages et al and on the internet is a hazard.
maggiemay
And even having an ex-directory number, and without being listed in yellow pages, you still get the calls that come through on computer generated numbers, and the international calls that tell you you've won a holiday in the Bahamas ...
noodle
Semele, that must have been a shock. I got presented with a bill for £195 for my cars' first service today and I nearly fainted.

Yess, Maggie, we get those calls too. I 'won' a holiday to the Bahamas last week. Meet you there???
maggiemay
QUOTE(noodle @ Sep 28 2005, 08:32 PM)
Semele, that must have been a shock.  I got presented with a bill for £195 for my cars' first service today and I nearly fainted.

Yess, Maggie, we get those calls too.  I 'won' a holiday to the Bahamas last week. Meet you there???
*


okeydokey - I'll get the first round!
noodle
No problem. See you there.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.