30 replies to this topic

#1 semplice

semplice

• Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Member: 898607

Posted 05 December 2018 - 20:34

What system of counting music do you use for absolute beginners? And why?

I use kodaly rhythm names because my local schools used to run kodaly based music programs so that was what my students were familiar with and I didn't like the idea of using a numerical system. However I am open to reconsidering .... what are the benefits of other systems? 

(Edited: I'm still following this discussion and have really enjoyed reading everyone's replies - thankyou!) 

#2 Cyrilla

Cyrilla

Maestro

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14450 posts
  • Member: 99
  • Croydon, South London/Surrey

Posted 05 December 2018 - 23:41

Kodály practitioner here - I've never, EVER 'counted' with students - work with pulse/rhythm differentiation and the use of rhythm names are far more effective.

Even within the use of rhythm names, however, there are arguments - for/against the takedimi system, for example. 

:)

#3 semplice

semplice

• Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Posted 06 December 2018 - 00:04

Even within the use of rhythm names, however, there are arguments - for/against the takedimi system, for example. 

smile.png

I would love to hear more about this if you have the time smile.png

#4 agricola

agricola

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1732 posts
  • Member: 545

Posted 06 December 2018 - 08:19