Jump to content


Photo

Forum security


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 hummingbird

hummingbird

    Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Member: 491056
    Joined: 25-July 12

Posted 02 October 2018 - 10:59

When I made a post in another thread just now, it took me to a security page when I had to click a box to prove I wasn't a robot.  In fact I had to do it twice, because I had to also click the robot box when I clicked the "more options" button as well.  Is everyone else getting this or is just me?

 

Strangely I didn't have to go through the robot page when starting this thread.

 

 


  • 1

#2 Splog

Splog

    Virtuoso

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3333 posts
  • Member: 460379
    Joined: 20-May 12

Posted 02 October 2018 - 11:30

Never seen that, but haven't posted much recently. Why don't you send Ed a message and ask what it's about?


  • 0

#3 fsharpminor

fsharpminor

    Maestro

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17375 posts
  • Member: 7089
    Joined: 07-June 06
  • Heswall, Wirral (originally Keighley, Yorks)

Posted 02 October 2018 - 13:35

I've seen similar on other sites but not on here


  • 1

#4 elemimele

elemimele

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 952 posts
  • Member: 895612
    Joined: 17-July 16

Posted 02 October 2018 - 20:30

It happened to me a few days ago when I sent a PM; first time I'd seen a Captcha thing on this site, and it did look a bit odd, not like Captcha's on other sites, which worried me at the time. Moderators: this is important; if your site is using this technology, please do confirm! If it isn't, then someone is up to something suspicious. I was going to flag this post so that the moderators notice and reply, but I see the flagging system specifically asks users not to do that.... I wish I knew if the pop-up were real, but at least my virus checker didn't throw a wobbly about it.


  • 1

#5 tetrachord

tetrachord

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 677 posts
  • Member: 61050
    Joined: 03-April 09
  • Central Scotland

Posted 05 October 2018 - 09:53

I had this yesterday - I kept being shown pictures and being asked to tick all the boxes which had stairs or traffic lights or something like that.  When I'd completed one I'd get another one; I had four or five in total before it accepted I wasn't a robotblink.png  I'll let you know if it happens when I try to post this...

 

Yes, it did...huh.png


  • 0

#6 JimD

JimD

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 462 posts
  • Member: 159407
    Joined: 24-November 10
  • Washington UK

Posted 06 October 2018 - 08:45

Just curious to see if it happens to me.

 

(EDIT: nope!)


  • 0

#7 mel2

mel2

    Virtuoso

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4733 posts
  • Member: 6928
    Joined: 15-May 06
  • East Yorkshire

Posted 06 October 2018 - 09:12

Nor me.
  • 0

#8 BadStrad

BadStrad

    Virtuoso

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3892 posts
  • Member: 88756
    Joined: 28-January 10

Posted 06 October 2018 - 09:37

Never seen that, but haven't posted much recently. Why don't you send Ed a message and ask what it's about?

Ed isn't in the admin list now. The latest addition is RachelC1234.
  • 0

#9 hummingbird

hummingbird

    Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Member: 491056
    Joined: 25-July 12

Posted 06 October 2018 - 10:57

The last time I had any communications with a mod, it was with Res.  I've PM'd him to ask for clarification.


  • 0

#10 Bagpuss

Bagpuss

    Virtuoso

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3155 posts
  • Member: 371
    Joined: 07-January 04

Posted 07 October 2018 - 04:47

I'm now getting 4 or 5 of these every time I even try to preview a PM. Immensely annoying.
BP x
  • 0

#11 Violin Hero

Violin Hero

    Virtuoso

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3704 posts
  • Member: 26561
    Joined: 08-March 08
  • South London

Posted 07 October 2018 - 12:25

I have never had any captcha or any form of security check on this forum. I use Chrome at home and IE on my work laptop.

 

What browser do you use?


  • 0

#12 Banjogirl

Banjogirl

    Virtuoso

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2541 posts
  • Member: 39509
    Joined: 12-September 08

Posted 07 October 2018 - 12:42

I've not either. I use Firefox.


  • 0

#13 Cyrilla

Cyrilla

    Maestro

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14574 posts
  • Member: 99
    Joined: 09-November 03
  • Croydon, South London/Surrey

Posted 07 October 2018 - 22:11

I'm on IE and haven't had any problems as yet.

 

unsure.png


  • 0

#14 Misterioso

Misterioso

    Virtuoso

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5785 posts
  • Member: 13351
    Joined: 18-July 07
  • Outer Hebrides

Posted 08 October 2018 - 12:12

I sent a PM today and had to confirm that I wasn't a robot.


  • 0

#15 hummingbird

hummingbird

    Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Member: 491056
    Joined: 25-July 12

Posted 15 October 2018 - 18:06

The last time I had any communications with a mod, it was with Res.  I've PM'd him to ask for clarification.

I never got a reply :(

 

I haven't had the Captcha thing since I last posted in this thread, and I wondered if the mods had done something to remove it but I've just had it again now when I posted in the Organ forum.


  • 0