Photo

How does learning an instrument benefit your whole education?

education music benefits

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 scarlettgirl

scarlettgirl

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Member: 888165

Posted 21 January 2018 - 17:07

Hi all!

I'm in my final year of a music education degree and one of my last assignments requires me to ask musicians and music educators the above question! I would love to hear your feelings on this.

Does learning a musical instrument benefit your whole education? How?

Any answers will be welcome.

Thank you, I appreciate your help :)

#2 elemimele

elemimele

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 737 posts
  • Member: 895612

Posted 21 January 2018 - 19:29

Wrong questions! Music makes people happy, and that should be enough.

The fact that musicians spend so much time agonising over the benefits of music to people's overall mental health, and trying to prove that studying an instrument will increase someone's grade in A-level physics, is a dismal sign of an underlying suspicion of inferiority. No one goes around saying "study geography because it will help your mental health! Study French because it will help you stay fit! Study maths because it will improve your concentration!" I rather doubt that many great painters painted because they thought it would help them improve their chemistry, and I doubt that people visiting the Louvre are doing it for its knock-on benefits on their computer coding skills.

Be proud, and do music for its own sake; if you tie music to another subject, and try to prove that music is worthwhile because of its benefits to another subject, then you risk creating the impression that music is only worthwhile because of its benefits to other subjects. If the benefits prove exaggerated, then you have undermined the validity of studying music at all.

#3 fsharpminor

fsharpminor

Maestro

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17032 posts
  • Member: 7089