#1 adultpianist

adultpianist

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 926 posts
  • Member: 888829

Posted 20 January 2018 - 22:46

I am a beginner with flute..  I have a book of exercises.   I have been starting from the beginning.   I am up to module 5.   Module 5 starts talking about ties and teaches you how to recognise and play a tie.   I am not prepared to do this module because I find it boring because I already know how to recognise and play a tie from my piano studies.  I use basic exercises to practice breathing and changing my fingers on the pads of the flute from one note to the other and that is all. I do not also need to learn about ties and time signature

#2 EllieD

EllieD

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 517 posts
  • Member: 897806

Posted 21 January 2018 - 08:50

But of course, anyone who has already learned one instrument is bound to find overlap when they learn another. One of the piano sight reading books I have is explaining about dotted rhythms - this is good for most Grade 2 pianists who are learning an instrument for the first time but obviously I don't need that myself at my stage, so it's all good and I just do the sight reading exercises.

Are you worried about missing out a section that you don't need?

#3 adultpianist

adultpianist

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 926 posts

Posted 21 January 2018 - 09:29