#1 LearnerFlute

LearnerFlute

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 497 posts
  • Member: 127255

Posted 23 September 2017 - 06:17

I had my very first piano lesson yesterday! It was much harder than I thought.

It was fun though and I am going to stick with it for as long as I can. We are using the Dozen a day mini books and I learned some exercises and one song which I have to practice this week.

My teacher said that already playing an instrument will help me but I feel like a total beginner and things that look easy on paper are actually hard to do practically.

LF

#2 dorfmouse

dorfmouse

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1156 posts
  • Member: 1946
  • Germany

Posted 23 September 2017 - 07:10

Congrats on going for it and welcome to the world of adult beginners!
As a recent beginner on harp I would advise you to put all thoughts of I can play instrument x therefore I should make quick progress. (Not saying you are, but beware!) The skills of reading and coordinating two hands is a different level of difficulty from playing a single melody line. I play advanced piano but hands together on harp causes me far more difficulties and gnashing of teeth than I ever expected. Patience in enormous quantities is required! I hope you will have a wonderful journey with this great instrument.

#3 chimichanga

chimichanga

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Member: 898251

Posted 23 September 2017 - 08:00

Congrats! I still remember how nervous I felt going for my first piano lesson! It does require a lot of patience to keep on and I find the learning curve steep starting as an adult learner, but it's all worth it. It felt like a dream come true when I learnt my first piano piece, a piece I had always wanted to learn for years haha. Keep it on and all the best!

#4 fsharpminor

fsharpminor

Maestro

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16604 posts
  • Member: 7089
  • Heswall, Wirral (originally Keighley, Yorks)

Posted 23 September 2017 - 09:52