Photo

New peripatetic teacher looking for advice.

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Mumofmany

Mumofmany

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Member: 892867

Posted 15 November 2018 - 12:50

Hi all,

I’ve not posted in such a long time, but here goes!

Some members may recall I started teaching around a year ago (a local adult worship group) Well, things have really picked up for me lately and not only have I found myself studying an intensive two year BA voice course, hopefully leading onto MA, with some rather wonderful teachers but I’ve also got myself a job as a peripatetic teacher at an independent school. I currently have five pupils ranging from 12-14 in age who are complete beginners and extremely enthusiastic; a joy to teach actually by comparison to some of my past private pupils. However, I’m still relatively new to this and would love some advise about repertoire exercises and resources; especially for youngsters with pitch issues. Are there any must follow teacher blogs/web pages for resources (other than imslp). Any useful books? I really want to keep these children enthused! My own teachers have been fantastically helpful but there’s nothing like a hive mind. Do you have any specific pearls of wisdom you wish you’d known as a new teacher?

Many thanks in advance.

#2 HelenVJ

HelenVJ

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2021 posts
  • Member: 1265
  • South-East London ( OK - Penge)

Posted 15 November 2018 - 12:56

Join AoToS (Association of Teachers of Singing) and get loads of useful info and advice from their web pages, the mentoring groups, the local hubs, plus a great magazine etc etc. For me, piano teaching has now pretty much taken over from singing,  but I still maintain membership of this group. Warmly recommended.

#3 zwhe

zwhe

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 199 posts
  • Member: 898658

Posted 15 November 2018 - 14:01