#1 Bleamy

Bleamy

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Member: 897578
  • London

Posted 04 January 2018 - 12:39

As my tendinitis is keeping away from the piano I might do theory instead.
I think theory is really useful to get a deeper picture of pieces by analysing harmonies.(I know nothing about them, sometimes I can't even recognise the right  key and impossible to notice the modulations) 

The next theory exam at the end of February, is it too late to start studying? What is the hardest part of grade 6? Is there any  working strategy to approach the exam successfully?

I studied grade 5 with Victoria Willians Website. I was exceptionally good.
I saw she is selling books on Amazon as well.
Has somebody tried her Music theory book?
https://www.amazon.c...ms music theory

#2 Dotty old crotchet

Dotty old crotchet

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Member: 898095
  • Yorkshire

Posted 04 January 2018 - 13:47

I have all the Victoria Williams books up to grade 5 but I haven't seen the grade 6 one. They are suitable for adults, very clear, no padding, no background info, just what you need for the exam. They seem a little expensive, but they do include exercises with answers and a mock exam paper with answers. They are self published and the typeface does look a bit basic and I would have appreciated the font size being a bit bigger. I easily get a distinction in any past papers that I try so I guess they are good books. Personally, I would have appreciated a bit more background information and context.

#3 Dotty old crotchet

Dotty old crotchet

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Member: 898095
  • Yorkshire

Posted 04 January 2018 - 13:54