• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Guest: jasonbird_*

Guest: jasonbird_*
  • Guests
  • Member: 0

Posted 28 January 2004 - 08:17

Hi, I just got my Grade 2 in Clarinet.
I want to ask if Circular Breathing a must for all of you who playing clarinet to learn? anything your teacher mentioned about it? rolleyes.gif

Besides, how many years it takes to attain Grade 8 exam? how much time per day you practice? cool.gif

Thanks!!

#2 Guest: jo.clarinet_*

Guest: jo.clarinet_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 January 2004 - 12:38

I don't think circular breathing is a necessity at all - however, you do of course need to have good breath control!
As to how long it takes to get to Grade 8 standard, that depends on a lot of factors. I've been learning the clarinet for about 2-and-a-half years and am now working for my Grade 8 (I did Grade 7 in October and got a Distinction - much to my surprise!), but I'm a music teacher, of piano and recorders, so the 'musical' side of playing the clarinet has come easily and my problems are to do with technique rather than interpretation.
For someone beginning their musical education from scratch, I'd say a grade each year is about average, although it does depend a lot on a pupil's innate ability. smile.gif

#3 Guest: chelsea_*

Guest: chelsea_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 February 2004 - 14:42

I have played clarinet for 22 years and have never needed circular breathing so I wouldn't worry about it. As for practise, well you need to strengthen your mouth so you can play longer without getting tired, so try to build up practise levels gradually. If you take each grade exeam it would take around 6 years to reach grade 8 , but with lots of practise you should improve quicker and maybe able to miss a couple.

#4 Guest: jasonbird_*

• Guests

Posted 07 February 2004 - 02:37

Thanks to both of you.
Actually, I also have background in music. I learn piano before but didn't play it for many years before starting the clarinet.