#1 funkiepiano

funkiepiano

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • Member: 15203

Posted 28 January 2019 - 12:49

A school pupil who I've been teaching for 4 years, stopped paying in Nov so I've had no choice but to remove her. Such a shame as she's a lovely girl and was doing well! Her mum has had 3 emails and a letter, and she owes me 6 weeks lessons but has ignored my requests. I asked the class teacher if he knows of any circumstance changes in the family, and he doesn't. Every year I remove around 3 pupils for non-payment and mostly they're a relief to see the back of, but this one is heartbreaking :(

#2 Misterioso

Misterioso

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5788 posts
  • Member: 13351
  • Outer Hebrides

Posted 28 January 2019 - 12:59

I wonder if it's worth having a word direct with the mother herself. It may be that something has happened (a bereavement, sickness or other scenario) that means bills haven't been kept up with. The class teacher may not necessarily know. If that yields nothing, and you are a member of the Musician's Union or ISM, you can get them to chase payments for you. In this case, I would send a final bill marked urgent for all outstanding payments, with a note that further action will be taken if it is not paid by a deadline that you set.

#3 Gran'piano

Gran'piano

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Member: 899443

Posted 28 January 2019 - 13:24

I usually tread gently in situations like these. The pupil has been with you for four years. if you have had no trouble with payments before, I'd try hard to get to the bottom of this without causing unnecessary bad feelings. When you say a person has had three emails and a letter, do you really mean you have sent three emails and a letter? It isn't quite the same thing.