33 replies to this topic

#1 cel

cel

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Member: 7939

Posted 11 February 2019 - 14:35

I have been a piano teacher in a primary school for about 10 years and today with sadness, I have decided that I will finish teaching next term and won't return in the Autumn.   I am so fed up with the excuses for not practising from both the child (& the parents) and also with pupils not turning up with their requisite tutor books.  They clearly haven't played from one lesson to the next because they just haven't had the time!!!  

I spoke to one parent this morning who said that he couldn't make his 6 year old practise even though he tries to encourage him to do so.  My response to that was if you can't make him do something now, what hope have you got when he's a teenager...!

I do understand the challenges of motivating beginners as the repertoire in the early tutor books can be a bit dry, but without any practise at all, progression to anything more fun is very unlikely.

I think as teachers, we are having to compete with electronic devices, both parents working (in a lot of cases full time) and clubs for anything and everything.  I am a parent myself so I know the challenges, but I really do believe that parents think that if they pay for something it will happen and underestimate the importance of time and supporting the child which is what really matters.

I will continue with my private pupils, although some of those aren't that much better and see how it goes.

Apologies for the rant, but I do feel so much better!

#2 DMC

DMC

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Member: 477382

Posted 11 February 2019 - 14:50

You have my utmost sympathy.

I wish parents would adopt the same ethic to Piano practice as they do to reading, writing, sums and spellings - all of which, given the choice most kids wouldn't do. 

#3 The Great Sosso

The Great Sosso

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 349 posts
  • Member: 887899