• Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Member: 897542
  • United States

Posted 12 April 2017 - 14:52

Hi everyone, 

I am new to the forum. 

Im just beginning to prepare for my DipABRSM in Singing. I doubt I'll take it this year, so this thread could go on for quite some time but I thought it would be nice to keep a record of my progress and to chat with fellow musicians about this exciting...but challenging exam. 

I took the Dip a number of years ago....was in no way ready vocally, was on antibiotics for a chest infection and suffering from a slipped disc...so obviously that went very well..hahha!

At the moment, I'm just taking some time every day to sing a variety of pieces (segments of songs etc) that are on the Dip repertoire list and also some early music (have a growing love for lute songs). This time around my main goal is to not allow myself to get stressed out and to really enjoy singing every day. If and when I'm ready to take the exam, I'll take it :)

I thought I'd start by introducing the pieces I'm looking at. (not all in the one day of course)

-Purcell: An evening hymn, Music for a while and farewell limpid springs

-Dowland: Flow my tears and in darkness let me dwell

-Campion: Shall I come love

-Mozart: Batti batti

-Gia il sole del gange

-Meine leibe ist grun

-Orpheus with his lute (Coates)

-Blow blow thy winter wind (Quilter)

-Corcus christi carol-Britten

-Solveigs song

-Villanelle

-Scioglie omai le nevi

-The nightingale enslaves the rose..one of my favorites!

I'm also beginning to ponder the quick study. On my first attempt I was given 2 pages. That's all I can remember. Would be great to hear from others who have experience in this. Were you given atonal music, or something with a sweeping melody? Keys, tempo, breathing etc.