#1 Dharma

Dharma

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Member: 364553
  • Manchester, UK

Posted 10 August 2017 - 13:45

I've been learning violin now for coming on six months.

I'm and adult learner, and I'm not intending to take grades. A few months ago I started learning Pachelbels Canon, and I pretty have this in my fingers now, at least to the point where my teacher expects it will only be a few more weeks before this moves from the 'learning' bucket to the 'polishing' bucket...so I need something to replace it in the 'learning' bucket.

The problem is, whilst I love listening to classical music in general, and violin in particular, everything I listen to is WAY beyond my ability, so I'm struggling to come up with ideas of what to do next. My teacher is going to come up with some suggestions, but has also said it would be a good idea to think about this myself as well.

He's also suggested we avoid the key of D, as that's the key of Canon, and we've done a lot of work in that key over the last couple of months.

Sadly, everything I know (Jesu Joy of Mans Desiring, Air on a G String etc) is in the key of D, or - as I said -  WAY beyond my abilities. I've spent a couple of days digging around, but am struggling.

Can anyone suggest any pieces that are not in D Maj or (B Min), are of a similar or slightly greater difficulty as Canon, and maybe include something a bit exciting to provide a stretch (maybe with shifts other than to 3rd position - but please not 12th :) , or with interesting bow techniques)?

Many thanks for your thoughts.

#2 cestrian

cestrian

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 720 posts
  • Member: 253314
  • Wales

Posted 10 August 2017 - 17:34

You don't have to 'do' the grades to follow the grade syllabus. I'm an inveterate exam taker so it was an easy decision for me but the grades have been a godsend when it comes to 'what to do next'. I'm already getting anxious as to what I'll do when 8 is done.

#3 fsharpminor

fsharpminor