#1 Steven Carr

Steven Carr

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Member: 286204

Posted 12 June 2018 - 11:51

If it takes you a week to learn a piece of music, is it too easy for you to make much progress by learning it?

It if takes you a month to learn a piece of music, is it too hard for you to make much progress by learning it?

What is the optimum time a piece of music should take to learn so that it is at the right level of difficulty for you to improve by studying it?

#2 corenfa

corenfa

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5956 posts
  • Member: 95861
  • Here

Posted 12 June 2018 - 12:00

I don't believe there is an optimum time, there's only whether you feel you are getting something out of it by learning it. I have been working on the Chopin polonaise op 53 for five years and I still have plenty to learn. For me, I am still motivated to continue but I would not suggest that this is optimum for other people. It works for me and that's all I can say.

#3 zwhe

zwhe

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Member: 898658

Posted 12 June 2018 - 12:23

Unless you are an absolute beginner, when most pieces should be fairly quick to learn, I would recommend having a mixture, so for example one really difficult piece that will take you a month or more and then a couple of pieces that can be learnt in a few hours. This enables you to build a larger repertoire and with it a sense of achievement while at the same time having something more challenging.

#4 sbhoa

sbhoa

Maestro

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22836 posts
  • Member: 24
  • Tameside

Posted 12 June 2018 - 14:46

Most of the pieces I'm learning take me several months but I am trying to include some more shorter/easier pieces in order to cover more repertoire.

#5 tulip21

tulip21

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Member: 898887

Posted 12 June 2018 - 15:36