#1 Suzy

Suzy

• Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Member: 889086
  • Highlands, Scotland

Posted 14 December 2018 - 08:14

My sister’s friend has asked me for a gift voucher for her son and daughter’s law Christmas present. She would like an hour’s piano lesson for both of them together. I’ve never done vouchers before but I have said yes and made the voucher up. Her son and daughter in law are in their twenties and both have a little bit of experience with the piano from years back and her daughter in law is currently in a brass band.

I’m really not sure what to do in a one off hour lesson, never mind a double one! It’s so difficult when you don’t know what level they are at and how able they will be at reading music. I thought my main goal would be to get them playing a duet as that would be good fun. I would really appreciate any suggestions. Thank you!

#2 agricola

agricola

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1760 posts
  • Member: 545

Posted 14 December 2018 - 08:45

Could you get in touch with them before the lesson and ask what they would like to get out of it?  I try to avoid these one-off lessons as they rarely lead to a long-term commitment and you can waste a lot of time racking your brains for suitable things to do.  If they have played before, however briefly, you might ask them to prepare a piece each for the lesson.  I think I would just divide the hour between them rather than trying to do something with both together.

#3 HelenVJ

HelenVJ

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2073 posts
  • Member: 1265
  • South-East London ( OK - Penge)

Posted 14 December 2018 - 09:04