Photo

How do you structure a practice session?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Big Mike

Big Mike

• Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Member: 897380
  • Bolton

Posted 30 August 2017 - 20:31

Hi,

I'm an Adult student working towards Grade 6 piano in 2018. How do you guys plan a typical hours practice. ie, so many minutes on pieces and so many on scales and arpeggios etc. Or if you have (as I have) 3 0r4 pieces to learn,then do you rotate each piece on different days. Also I have other things to focus on like staccato scales and contrary motion scales etc.

Any advice would be great.

#2 returning_to_piano

returning_to_piano

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Member: 897705

Posted 31 August 2017 - 08:54

As an adult I tend to try to focus on one main task to be accomplished per session. It would definitely be one piece per session, for me. For about 10 mins I'll start with the scales and arpeggios that are most relevant to that piece, both in terms of keys and in terms of technique. Then I'll work out one bar/set of a couple of bars/phrase of one piece for, say, 20mins to half an hour - learning the notes and the movements needed for expression. If I have time I'll then try a second phrase, but I'll forgive myself if I don't accomplish that one because it wasn't the original goal. For the last 15-20 minutes I'll then do 2 short pieces of sightreading: one playing slowly to get all the notes; one fast to ease up into fluency.

It might sound like very little done for the amount of time, but the advantage for the pieces is I can draw a line under that small part of the piece after that day and call it done, much like crossing an item off a list. Very satisfying. It will always need a bit of tweaking later on, but the fundamentals will be there.

I do rotate pieces on different days.