#1 hummingbird

hummingbird

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1732 posts
  • Member: 491056

Posted 09 May 2018 - 23:26

I've got a confession to make, which is that I've badly neglected sightreading practice.  I've got no-one to blame but myself as my teacher is a passionate advocate of sightreading practice.  I'm equally passionate about disliking doing it, and of course it's a vicious spiral downwards.  If I do another exam, it will be Grade 5 but one of the things that's putting me off is getting my sightreading up to standard.

I've got lots of past exam books and seeing as I like doing things logically, my strategy is to start off with Grade 1 books and work my way upwards, and that's what I've been doing.  I'm not very good at just picking up random pieces without any structure.  What sort of timescale would it be reasonable to think I could get up to the standard of a G5 exam, assuming I devote some serious time to it.  A few months, half a year, more than a year...?  I'd like to have some idea, if possible, of what to expect. 

Thanks piano.gif

#2 Ligneo Fistula

Ligneo Fistula

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1119 posts
  • Member: 529803
  • United Kingdom

Posted 10 May 2018 - 02:29

hides.gifguilty as charged.  </watches thread with great interest>

My grade 1 and grade 2 Paul Harris books are sitting by my piano, barely used crying.gif

#3 EllieD

EllieD

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 477 posts
  • Member: 897806

Posted 10 May 2018 - 07:02