#1 The Great Sosso

The Great Sosso

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Member: 887899

Posted 11 January 2019 - 17:51

I've just had a piano lesson for the first time in a while.  I've been teaching for a few years, and mentioned on another thread some weeks ago that I was starting to feel inadequate with a more advanced student wanting me to take her through to grade 7, so I've found myself a really good teacher, who costs a fortune, and had my first lesson with him this week.

I left full of ideas for practice, but painfully aware of how inadequate I am!    Does anyone else ever get this feeling or is it just me?  I feel like I don't really know how to play the piano at all!

I shouldn't complain because I specifically wanted a teacher who would help me to improve my technique (a previous teacher always made me feel bad because he never told me how to get better, and I always felt that was because he thought I couldn't do it) but it stings a bit!

Maybe I will always suffer from impostor syndrome.  Anyone else?

TGS X

#2 jch48

jch48

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 538 posts
  • Member: 25823
  • East Midlands

Posted 11 January 2019 - 18:21

Glad you've found someone and it sounds v promising. I'm not currently suffering from 'imposter syndrome' but i know it's v common.
My feelings watching my teacher play is just how far above my level she is (facility, speed, leaps, beauty of tone, phrasing, memory, listening....) and i know that i'm pretty competent.

#3 ten left thumbs

ten left thumbs

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 712 posts
  • Member: 454622

Posted 11 January 2019 - 19:31

Timely for me, I'm up for feeling inadequate too. For this reason, I don't take advanced students just now. I do plan to get better.