Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Member: 893292
  • South-east Australia

Posted 16 January 2016 - 03:56

Hi fiddle players...

I recently took up practising the violin again after more than a decade's almost complete abstinence -- and decades since I had a lesson. This also involved getting some new gear.  I've had some experiences I could call "educational".  So for the enlightenment of anyone planning a similar comeback (and no doubt the entertainment of the rest of you) I can offer a few tips.  

Isn't anonymity a wonderful thing? 

So here are Tips #1 to 3 in the series "Taking up your violin again - for dummies"

TIP #1

If you get your bow rehaired its best not to throw out that old bit of rosin lurking in your case before you've got your new bow hair rosined up again -- unless there's someone else's rosin you can borrow for a bit -- because with a perfectly smooth new lump of rosin & new bow hair, try as you might, there is just not enough friction to get the rosin on the bow. :duh:

TIP #2

When the truth of Tip #1 dawns upon you its best not to :idea: roughen up your new rosin with a nail file encrusted with diamond chips.  Unless you were planning to perform a rendition of "The Devil Went Down to Georgia" and play the devils part... 

TIP #3

Your new bow hair might not sit quite so flat after you've vacuumed the #*#*##* out of it :embarassed:

:howDoYouDo:

#2 Tenor Viol

Tenor Viol

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5834 posts
  • Member: 343214
  • North Shropshire

Posted 16 January 2016 - 11:13

:rofl:

#3 OlderAussie

OlderAussie

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • South-east Australia

Posted 18 January 2016 - 04:28

So, I see there is some interest in this topic. Maybe I should hurry along my pearls of wisdom.

Before I get on to talking about your instrument you could contemplate:

Tip #4:

Pursue a meaningful relationship with noodles and dumbbells.