adultpianist

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 966 posts
  • Member: 888829

Posted 02 December 2018 - 19:59

I am starting a new flute thread for anyone who wishes to contribute;

I am a beginner and am progressing.   I can play high notes but only as single notes on their own.   When I am playing an exercise that starts with lower notes and then goes onto higher notes, the higher notes do not sound very good.   My teacher says and I agree that it is because I am having to concentrate on the changes in the fingerings as well as the change in mouth position going from low to high so its a lot of things to think about all at once.   As I said earlier, if I am asked to play a high E or a high F etc that is no problem and they sound quite good and sharp.    I guess its just practice practice and more practice.   My teacher said I am very capable of producing a good high note

#2 jim palmer

jim palmer

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1603 posts
  • Member: 28959
  • South London

Posted 02 December 2018 - 20:19

Removing tarnish from flute

I cleaned my flute headjoint using the "electrochemical method" with baking soda and aluminium foil.

It worked ok, the query now is can I use it to clean the body and footjoint without damaging the pads?

I understand the pads contain felt, but aren't they protected by a plastic skin?

unsure.png

#3 zwhe

zwhe

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 199 posts
  • Member: 898658

Posted 02 December 2018 - 20:25

Sorry, but it would not only damage the pads, but also some of the mechanism which isn't silver, eg the screws and pins. All of the key work would need to be removed first. Unless the tarnish is coming off when you handle it, it is completely harmless and doesn't affect the sound at all. Unless the flute is really cheap and not worth it, I would suggest getting it serviced instead - they can check everything is properly adjusted at the same time and will be able to put it back together properly!