1 reply to this topic

#1 shawn

shawn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Member: 88749

Posted 09 March 2019 - 17:00

I’m an adult amateur pianist (50).  I have been lucky enough to have the time to learn world music history and theory over the past 13 years.  I was recently at Stratford International Railway Station London where i had some time on the pubic piano in the foyer.  I have suffered much more than others with confidence, but luckily my positivity began to recognise some weaknesses i have, and also some of my positive aspects.  I think my niche maybe in program music; i can improvise stuff in a rather random unordered expressive way, perhaps with a motif reoccurring at times.

I’m trying to work on those weaknesses, and i am curious if metered rhythm is a vital aspect of all musicianship.  I know it’s vital in an ensemble dance music situation, but i wonder if there is a regular pulse to all natural regular earth bound life, albeit at different tempos e.g. the heart beat could be considered 1-2-1-2 etc.

Say you were lucky enough to be able to paint with music – people, events, places, etc?  Should that have a regular pulse, differing tempos etc? Or is unordered perfectly fine as well?

#2 ten left thumbs

ten left thumbs

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 773 posts
  • Member: 454622

Posted 10 March 2019 - 16:34

Disclaimer - I'm no jazzer!