#1 ma non troppo

ma non troppo

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1295 posts
  • Member: 76027

Posted 19 June 2019 - 20:31

When I first started teaching, many moons ago, only a very small percentage of my pupils were adults - but now about a third are. I have grown to love teaching these older pianists. There are so many better adult appropriate teaching resources out there than when I was a new teacher (for beginners). My adult students range from total beginners to diploma level and quite a few have become friends over the years too. It can be a very rewarding relationship to witness them developing as musicians.

#2 Latin pianist

Latin pianist

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3547 posts
  • Member: 711500

Posted 19 June 2019 - 20:48

I do enjoy teaching adults but am amazed that you have several reaching grade 8 level and above. Most of the ones I have taught either give up after a while because of circumstances like a new job, or they only want to play things they know. I have one at the moment about to take grade 2 and I have a retired couple who share a lesson which they really enjoy, but I can tell they're not going to get all that far. My favourite teaching is at the secondary school where the older students are young adults. My least favourite are the 5 year olds I have to teach at a Private school.

#3 ma non troppo

ma non troppo

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1295 posts
  • Member: 76027

Posted 19 June 2019 - 21:07

Some of my adults who are working around grade 8 level or above are "returners" who played as children. Some are not though - I currently have three working for grade 8 that came to me as beginners. I also have two more who started as beginners and are around grade 6-7. I also have someone who started as a beginner at around the age of 40 with another teacher who is a transfer, who is just starting grade 8 pieces.

#4 Leese

Leese

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Member: 893086