Photo

Piano jazz book recommendation please...

piano jazz beginners

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 hammer action

hammer action

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • Member: 63311

Posted 23 January 2018 - 09:44

I'm maybe looking for something that doesn't exist, but i have two mature adult piano students (beginners) who love jazz and would like to learn well-known jazz pieces.  I've explained to them that jazz isn't easy for beginners and they're aware of that.  They've both completed the Microjazz Absolute Beginners book and i've written out a couple of very easy jazz pieces with left hand just playing root notes.  One of the students finds playing with both hands together incredibly difficult.  I've searched for other jazz standards that would be suitable but can't find any easy enough.

I have the Piano Time Jazz book plus Jazz, Rags & Blues book 1 but i know they would struggle with them.

Is there such a thing as a book with very easy jazz pieces (preferably popular) for beginners?  

#2 Piano Meg

Piano Meg

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Member: 271350
  • T' North

Posted 23 January 2018 - 10:55

The only ones I know are either that level or above or jazzy tunes (rather than jazz standards) - Chester has a series of books - blues, rags, etc. but I haven't used them myself.

I'd probably go with improvisation duets (you could start with 12 bar blues or similar and teach a different rhythm/melodic phrase each time - they could play just a bass note per bar/2 bars) or a more challenging piece that you work on over time alongside whatever else you're doing.

#3 ontheblackkeys

ontheblackkeys

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Member: 895988

Posted 23 January 2018 - 12:12