A Beginner's Saxophone

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Guest: lambadagirl_*

Guest: lambadagirl_*
  • Guests
  • Member: 0

Posted 23 November 2005 - 17:50

Hi - I'd love to pick up the sax but don't have too much money. I've seen an alto by the brand name Stagg for sale at a low price and wonder if anyone can tell me if it'll be ok or if I'm just wasting my money. I'm a total beginner but don't want to upset my neighbours (or put myself off learning) by making a terrible sound!
Any replies would be much appreciated.
Thanks.
LG

#2 Guest: lambadagirl_*

• Guests

Posted 23 November 2005 - 18:03

Thanks - although unfortunately I think even £400 is a bit steep at the moment. If Staggs really are that bad, perhaps I should just wait.......?

#3 Guest: saxlover_*

Guest: saxlover_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 November 2005 - 18:05

I didn't pay that much for my Yamaha 62.

A good one is YAS 275 but again about £500

#4 Guest: country_bumpkin_*

Guest: country_bumpkin_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 November 2005 - 19:12

A stagg is fine! Don't go out and buy a ridiculously expensive saxophone if you're not sure if you'll stick with it. Stagg do have a fairly good reputation, but if your money will stretch to it I'd recommend buying a jupiter. I bought one second hand for £200 as I didn't really know how well I'd take to the saxophone. Luckily I seemed to have the knack for it and my jupiter took me up to grade 6 standard. The only brand of saxophone I wouldnt recommend buying is an Elkhardt as several of my friends have found that the pads needed replacing after only a year due to poor workmanship. Good luck in finding a sax!

#5 Guest: lambadagirl_*

• Guests

Posted 23 November 2005 - 19:17

Thanks to all so much. I really appreciate the input. Let's hope my next question will be of a more technical nature after discovering that I can actually get a sound out of the instrument!
LG

#6 Guest: kayladavies_*

Guest: kayladavies_*
  • Guests