harmony2

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Member: 10155
  • South West

Posted 29 April 2007 - 11:28

I've been teaching for over twenty years now and just wondered if other teachers were noticing this too. In the past few years I have increasing problems with some pupils' inability to concentrate for more than a few minutes at a time - they are usually the ones who do little or no practice between lessons. 9 times out of 10, if I ask how much television they watch, and whether or not they have a 'games console', they suddenly become very animated and talk about their latest game/episode of Dr.Who etc. 3 hours plus a day seems to be the norm spent at these activities. If I suggest that their flute/piano playing would improve rapidly if they took just 30 minutes out of this time for practice you'd think I was asking them to cut a finger off!

Has anyone had similar experiences? sad.gif

#2 nic

nic

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  • Member: 8081

Posted 29 April 2007 - 12:38

I think that posture is getting worse as a result of this! (All my students know what I mean when I remind them that they have slipped back into 'playstation posture'!) unsure.gif tongue.gif

I do have one young boy who watches 4 hours of tv a day ( 2 of those before school) blink.gif and of course, plays computer games as well. He never did any practice when I first inherited him, but I have found that he is extremely motivated by performing at concerts, so eventually told him that he wouldn't be allowed to play if he didn't practice (which seems incredibly cruel, but it worked!)

He also seemed to understand the point of practice a little better when I asked if a juggler would perform without practising laugh.gif .... Apologies for moving slightly offTopic.gif

#3 Hammerklavier

Hammerklavier

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Member: 1917

Posted 29 April 2007 - 12:45