10 replies to this topic

#1 AWebb

AWebb

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Member: 463918

Posted 27 June 2012 - 12:50

I have my first ever music exam in 6 days...grade 2 harp. I am quite nervous as I only started learning last September and basically never play in public. I have been trying to play for friends and family in order to reduce nerves on the day.

I keep having nightmare scenarios in my mind of a string breaking in the middle of a piece. Any tips out there for getting through your first exam?

#2 DaisyChain

DaisyChain

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 873 posts
  • Member: 380975
  • Kent

Posted 27 June 2012 - 13:06

I tell my students to:
  • Smile and look confident even if you're not feeling it!
  • Say "good morning/afternoon" to the examiner (as appropriate)
  • Take all the time you need to get comfortable with your instrument
  • If you make any mistakes/stumbles in your playing, try not to start again, but find a place in the next bar and start from there. Whatever you do, keep going!
  • Remember that the examiner is there to support you in your success, and will be more than aware of nerves. It's good to have nerves, but try not to panic!

Having nightmares is normal. Before my exams or a public performance, I often dream that I sit down at the piano and have no clue where middle C is and have lost my ability to read music! It is only a dream of course, and if your string should break, I'm sure the examiner will have come across that scenario too. All the best for your exam, and well done you! smile.gif

#3 Norway

Norway

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4538 posts
  • Member: 452922

Posted 27 June 2012 - 13:06

QUOTE(AWebb @ Jun 27 2012, 01:50 PM) View Post

I have my first ever music exam in 6 days...grade 2 harp. I am quite nervous as I only started learning last September and basically never play in public. I have been trying to play for friends and family in order to reduce nerves on the day.