12 replies to this topic

#1 VickyB

VickyB

• Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Member: 409827

Posted 07 March 2013 - 16:57

Just wondering if any harpists play in any groups eg orchestras, quartets etc.

I'm fairly new to the harp. Haven't done any grades but I'd say I'm probably G1 standard at the moment. I play the lever harp.

I'd love to find a small, friendly regular harp / string / folk group to play with but all the local orchestras tend to ask for approx G4+.

What sort of groups should i be looking for? Is this something that any of you do?

Thanks

#2 erard

erard

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 614 posts
  • Member: 716

Posted 07 March 2013 - 22:00

I would suggest you start by finding a like minded friend on nearly any instrument - harp groups are fun as people understand, but harp and melody instrument works very well together playing any tune going.

Very little of the orchestral repertoire is playable as written on the lever harp, and you need a certain amount of experience and confidence to adapt parts as the odds are no one else in the room will know much about the harp. There are some introductory folk groups, but many race off at extremely high speed!

#3 BadStrad

BadStrad

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3891 posts
  • Member: 88756

Posted 08 March 2013 - 10:44

QUOTE(erard @ Mar 7 2013, 10:00 PM) View Post
I would suggest you start by finding a like minded friend on nearly any instrument - harp groups are fun as people understand, but harp and melody instrument works very well together playing any tune going.
I second that. Round here one of our young harpists has started playing with a cellist friend.

#4 VickyB

VickyB

• Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 08 March 2013 - 12:48

OK great. I'll give that a try. The only friend I know who is learning is playing trombone, and I think she would drown me out! I'll ask around.

Thanks for your help.

#5 Roseau

Roseau

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip