14 replies to this topic

#1 formerpriest

formerpriest

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Member: 887394

Posted 10 November 2014 - 11:48

My 7 year old daughter has been learning the piano for 12 months and getting on very well.  Her teacher has suggested that she might like to think about the ABRSM exams.  She has that she doesn't want to but wont give a reason.   I initially thought that a fear of playing in public might be the reason but she realises that she will only have to play in front of one person - and still doesn't want to think about it. 

Does anyone have any advice on how to encourage her?   I am a trained musician (RAM) and she is very used to hearing me play all the time (I don't teach her - no patience).  I thought about playing some of the pieces to her in the hope that that might excite her.

Am struggling a bit - any help or advice would be gratefully received.

Thanks

#2 Chomp

Chomp

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 843 posts
  • Member: 888251

Posted 10 November 2014 - 11:55

I wouldn't worry about it just yet. I think 12 months of lessons is quite soon to be thinking about piano exams. Especially that young.

When she's older and at a higher standard, and can see she is comfortable playing pieces of the required standard, she may change her mind.

#3 sbhoa

sbhoa

Maestro

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22935 posts
  • Member: 24
  • Tameside

Posted 10 November 2014 - 11:57

Is there a reason why she should take exams?

You could try calling it working for a certificate.

Does she like to perform at all? 

#4 maggiemay

maggiemay

Maestro

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19867 posts
  • Member: 413
  • S E England

Posted 10 November 2014 - 12:01

I'd probably recommend a softly softly approach. It may simply be the word 'exam' that your daughter finds off-putting.

If she is enjoying her lessons / playing so far, it would be a pity to rock the boat. And it really is relatively early days yet.