4 replies to this topic

#1 minimum

minimum

• Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Member: 272390

Posted 21 September 2017 - 13:48

Hello, I'm looking for some suggestions for some accessible recordings dvd's or cd's for my daughter.

She already has Carmen, La Boheme, and has seen La Traviata, Hansel and Gretel, and several others.

She loves The Magic Flute Queen of the Night Aria so was looking for a good recording.

Also, any suggestions as to which performers I should look at.

We do go to most Operas in this country and have seen several abroad too, but I'm a bit of a novice, not that into Opera but it's what she is asking for. I know it's not most 13 year olds idea of fun, but it's her life, apparently.

I see names on youtube and know they must be good as names of performers at top opera houses, but could do with something accessible where daughter could look at their career, education and early life documented.

Finally, looking for some recommendations of performers who sing Baroque and Purcell type stuff. I know, there's no accounting for taste 

Thanks in advance.

#2 polkadot

polkadot

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1605 posts
  • Member: 491056

Posted 21 September 2017 - 21:52

This month's BBC Music Magazine is an "Opera Special" - it sounds as if your daughter would enjoy it.  It includes an interview with Jonas Kaufman who is a contemporary opera singer, and it mentions many of the "opera greats" (both singers and composers).  It would be a good starting point.  The cover disk is a selection of opera classics.  I think a new opera series is starting shortly on the Beeb so she could look out for that.  If you're near London, the V&A Museum is running an opera exhibiton.  It's all in the BBC Music Magazine anyway!

#3 GMc

GMc

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1011 posts
  • Member: 322722

Posted 22 September 2017 - 12:30