14 replies to this topic

#1 Spirulla

Spirulla

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Member: 888475

Posted 19 October 2017 - 10:04

I have 30 years' teaching experience - but not music-teaching.  I hope you teachers won't mind me seeking advice on this forum rather than on the one dedicated to Adult Learners.  I used to play the violin as a child  (only achieved Grade 3 so not great).  Recently I was given quite a nice-sounding European violin so decided to start playing again.  I play other instruments so can read music with a degree of confidence.

I found a local professional musician whose method was learning by ear which I thought would be interesting.  The first couple of lessons covered the basics and he said I obviously wasn't a beginner and was doing well.  From then on things have gone downhill.  I paid for an hour's tuition each week at the going rate but after all his faffing about I only got to play for about 5 minutes in total and wasn't given enough to practise for the next lesson (at the start of which he never remembered what we'd covered previously so often repeated things and spent some time "demonstrating" i.e. playing at length with embellishments).

After a particularly unhelpful lesson the other day I feel totally demoralised.  I hardly got to play at all.  I had no clear feedback and it took 30 minutes of irrelevant preamble before the lesson began but I was charged full price.  I feel like such a mug and my confidence in teachers has been badly dented.  I'm not usually such a spineless wimp but he's the professional and I decided to trust his methods.  Should I try again?  I am loving the violin but I know teachers make all the difference to improvement.  I don't have a lot of pension to waste.  Advice welcomed, thank you.

#2 Aquarelle

Aquarelle

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6753 posts
  • Member: 10531

Posted 19 October 2017 - 10:23

Welcome to the forum.