Ian Wilson

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Member: 535956
  • Edinburgh

Posted 04 September 2018 - 09:40

Hi All,

I'm looking for a little perspective here on where to start ...

As an adult absolute beginner on piano, I'm a little confused by all the various method books and online resources (Playground Sessions) in how and what they are trying to teach.

They all seem to have you playing different simple pieces starting on a different note each time.   What is the point of that?   Are they expecting me to memorize all these different starting positions as a beginner?!

I can read music, especially the treble clef (I'm grade 4-5 violin).  Bass clef is new to me though.

The method book I have is Adult Piano Adventures level 1.    I plan to get lessons at some point, but probably not until January when I will have more free evenings.

Any advice appreciated.

Anyone else come to the piano from the violin?  With the violin you dont start position work until grade 3-4.  I understand its a bit like comparing apples to oranges, but is there not some basics that its good to nail down to begin with?

Thanks

Ian

#2 agricola

agricola

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1756 posts
  • Member: 545

Posted 04 September 2018 - 10:29

With piano it's important not to get stuck in one position -- most tutor books start with thumbs on Middle C and stay there for too long and the book you are using tries to avoid this.  A Grade 1 piano piece will often involve independent movement in both hands -- not just into another 5-finger group but with turning over or under the thumb and small stretches, so this is very different to the way one learns violin.  I would stick with your book and when you get a teacher all will become clear!

#3 Latin pianist

Latin pianist

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3395 posts
  • Member: 711500

Posted 04 September 2018 - 11:49