#1 adultpianist

adultpianist

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 936 posts
  • Member: 888829

Posted 20 October 2018 - 15:11

when do you usually upgrade to a better sounding flute?

I use a Yamana 211 student flute.  I am a beginner.

I want to have a better sounding flute but was told not yet until maybe Grade 4 level and intermediate flutes are heavier

#2 JimD

JimD

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Member: 159407
  • Washington UK

Posted 20 October 2018 - 15:26

I'm still playing a Yamaha 211 and playing about grade 7.

I could probably benefit from a better flute for control of dynamics, but other than that it does just about everything I need it to. Flutes with solid gold and silver parts will be heavier than plated ones, but at an amateur level a solid head joint is about as far as most people go*, unless money is no object.

* In my limited experience.

#3 gemmasue

gemmasue

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Member: 266661
  • Buckinghamshire

Posted 20 October 2018 - 15:30

I only upgraded a couple of years ago when I was approaching grade 7. Until the I had a Yamaha 211 too. In my opinion, there’s no point of upgrading until a bit later on. Your current flute is a really good make and model. I think once your technique as developed, you should produce a good tone on it.

#4 zwhe

zwhe

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Member: 898658

Posted 20 October 2018 - 16:23

I managed grade 8 on a yamaha beginner flute! Usually you upgrade when your flute won't do the technique you need to learn next - introducing 'colours' is often the one; sometimes its the very top notes or the dynamic range. Unless a beginner flute is very poor it should do up to grade 5 at least. Even a child's flute which doesn't have all the keys will do until grade 3 or 4.

#5 helen_flute

helen_flute

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Member: 898089

Posted 20 October 2018 - 16:43