#1 adultpianist

adultpianist

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1035 posts
  • Member: 888829

Posted 29 May 2019 - 14:48

Someone said to me that the flute is very hard to play in tune.   I said my teacher has not said I am not playing in tune so they said but do you check your playing with a tuner and I said no I have never used one nor has my teacher ever suggested it.

Is it worth asking my teacher about this?  I was advised that you play a note and check the note against the tuner to see if what you are playing sounds like the tuner in order to improve your sound.     I have never had any criticism on my sound except that it sounded airy when I first started but not so much now.

#2 hennylemon

hennylemon

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Member: 898652

Posted 29 May 2019 - 15:44

I have no experience in flutes but to address your question about asking your teacher, I think this sounds the sort of query you could discuss with your teacher. smile.png (Edit. Even if for reassurance).

#3 BadStrad

BadStrad

Virtuoso

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3966 posts
  • Member: 88756

Posted 29 May 2019 - 17:17

I'm sure your teacher would mention if you were playing out of tune.  (My teacher certainly never let me slip an off note past them).

Frequently checking your playing against a tuner sounds like a recipe for tension.  May I ask if the person who suggested it is a flautist themselves?

If you are concerned then of course ask your teacher.  Good intonation takes a long time to acquire, so it may be that yours is fine for your level of playing and that your teacher will help you to improve further when the time is right.  Or it could just be fine and there is nothing to worry about.  So I think I'd suggest asking your teacher and see what they have to say.  That way you don't have to think about what that person said again.

#4 elemimele

elemimele

Prodigy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1072 posts
  • Member: 895612

Posted 29 May 2019 - 18:01